Joint Statement on Hazing in Response to the Movie Burning Sands

NPHC is comprised of local councils drawn from the ranks of 1.5 million college and professional members of the nine historically African-American fraternities and sororities, namely: Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., and the Council of Presidents of these member organizations who come together on issues that promote the common purposes and general good for which these organizations exist.
In 1990, the NPHC organizations issued a joint statement announcing the elimination of pledging and each has instituted within its respective organization, revised membership development, and intake process.
Each NPHC organization has instituted strong policies against hazing and has taken steps to reinforce and strengthen its stand against prohibited conduct whether it is displayed through movies, books, or any type of social media.
NPHC and its member organizations have developed and instituted policies against hazing and have taken steps to reinforce and strengthen their stand against this prohibited conduct. Equally important NPHC and its member organizations do not condone, support, or encourage the production of movies, books, or any type of social media that promote hazing.
National Pan-Hellenic Council, Inc.
Council of Presidents
Dr. Glenda Glover Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Everett B. Ward, Ph.D. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
Beverly E. Smith Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Valerie Hollingsworth Baker Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
Andre Manson Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.
Thomas Battle Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
Deborah Catchings-Smith Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
Micheal Cristal Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
David Marion, Ph.D. Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.